Win a ‘Piano in a Flash’ Course and Learn to Play the Piano at Home: Review and Giveaway


The new year has made me think about those things that I have always wanted to do, that are on my 35 before 35 list, or my life list, and that I still haven’t done. Another year has passed me by and I haven’t even attempted to do them. In 2014 I did however start to learn to play the piano; a lifelong dream I was starting to think I would never get round to doing. You can read my first post about that here.

The new year gives you a new thirst for life and a renewed energy to improve yourself and try new things and so I really want to get further with learning to play the piano. I’ll be honest, I’ve had very little time to go through the Piano in a Flash course recently. The first course isn’t even really long, but I have been so busy with general life, being a mum, as well as Christmas, going away after Christmas and Ava’s third birthday that I just haven’t had time to sit and learn and concentrate. Which I suppose is the only downside to choosing to do a course at home. If you have an appointment with a piano teacher each week then you will generally always turn up and you will find the time to fit it in, or make time for it. But with a course that you do in your own time it isn’t as simple as that. And doing something for yourself as a parent doesn’t take priority unfortunately.

Every time I have made time to do some more of the course I’ve really enjoyed it. Emmy-winner Scott Houston has a really nice, relaxed (but not too relaxed) way of teaching, so it just feels like he is talking to you. He explains things simply and clearly which I think is particularly important for an online course where you can’t directly ask questions. It also means that you don’t get overwhelmed with brand new information, but still feels like you are learning a lot. After say an hour of the course, and having no previous experience (like me) you feel like you have already got quite far with learning the way a piano is set up as well as a couple of songs. It doesn’t in any way feel like you are not getting anywhere, or just learning a lot of information you don’t really need.

Piano in a Flash Lesson from Scott

It is quite informal which I really like as it stops it getting boring listening to the same person talk to you and teach you for a while. I also really like that Scott teaches just what you really need to know rather than all the nitty-gritty bits of classical piano playing that the average pianist will never need to know.

It feels so good to be able to play a tune with two hands not long after starting to learn it (albeit slowly!) and I love learning the little bits of information that you need to know, such as what a chord is, or a treble clef. It’s all simple stuff so far but I hadn’t realised that I had missed learning something new, and so I am finding it really interesting. It helps of course that it is knowledge about learning to play the piano which I have always wanted to do.

The classes are set up as a lesson with Scott where he explains things to you and shows you examples, and then you go through a short exercise to go over what you just learnt and bring it all together; this often includes practicing the song you have just learnt. I really like this way of learning. Each section doesn’t feel too long so you don’t feel overwhelmed with too much new information all at once, and it means you can fit it in even if you have a small amount of time.

Piano in a Flash Online Classroom

I think the Piano in a Flash course is a really nice way to learn to play the piano. There is no pressure so you can learn as quickly or as as slowly as you choose, and if you personally struggle on a certain bit then you can keep going over it until you improve, in your own time. For me, I wouldn’t be able to commit to regular lessons with a teacher right now so it’s a great way to not have to put off learning to play any longer. And there’s no pressure to attend a class at the end of a long day when all you want to do is sit on your bottom and drink wine.

Although I haven’t finished the course yet I feel like I have learnt a lot of the technical information I need to know, as well as numerous songs and it feels really good. I love the feeling of sitting in front of my keyboard with both of my hands hitting (some of the time!) different keys and actually playing a familiar tune and it being recognisable! If you need anyone to play Happy Birthday at your next birthday party let me know ;)

Win a Piano in a Flash Course, worth $149….

The New Year is the perfect time to try something new, or to take up something you have always planned to start and never got round to. If you are like me and have always wanted to learn to play the piano then I have the perfect giveaway for you! Piano in a Flash are offering my readers the opportunity to win their very own Piano in a Flash Course 1.

Enter to win

If you’d like to be in with a chance of winning your own Piano in a Flash Course, simply complete the widget below.

a Rafflecopter giveaway
This giveaway is open to UK and USA residents only.

Good luck!

I was sent the Piano in a Flash course to review but all thoughts and opinions are my own.

This giveaway is listed on


  1. carol
    January 10, 2015 / 1:45 am

    I would like to learn piano because I have always envied people who can..and I have a piano just sitting there mow that the kiddos have moved out.

  2. eileen
    January 10, 2015 / 6:36 am

    I already play pretty good. I am entering for my daughter. She is a freshman in college majoring in vocal performance (Opera) Kids got a voice, has won several national opera competitions, sings in a professional c house opera company but she HAS to take (and pass) 2 years of piano at the conservatory. Not going well. her professor scares the crap out of her, and she just isn’t getting it, no matter how many times a day she practices. Hoping your method might work for her

  3. lucy higgins
    January 10, 2015 / 1:33 pm

    i would love to learn as ive always wanted to, i started years ago but gave it up so i would love to pick it up

  4. Stacie M
    January 10, 2015 / 1:44 pm

    I’ve always wanted to learn to play piano.

  5. Kevin Honey
    January 10, 2015 / 3:16 pm

    I’d like to learn piano to increase my understanding of music

  6. Sandra M.
    January 10, 2015 / 4:24 pm

    I have always dreamed of playing the piano as long as I can remember.

  7. paige
    January 10, 2015 / 4:25 pm

    I have always wanted to learn the piano but never had one so i hope my luck will change

  8. January 10, 2015 / 4:28 pm

    its god for brain develop and having just retired I need a challlenge

  9. Sandra Lane
    January 10, 2015 / 9:15 pm

    My son has been having piano lessons and I thought it would be nice to join him but i don’t have the funds so this course would be ideal.

  10. John Jones
    January 10, 2015 / 9:57 pm

    My real name is Reggie Dwight…

  11. George Spedding
    January 10, 2015 / 10:05 pm

    When tense I listen to some piano and it chills me, must be great to play

  12. William Gould
    January 11, 2015 / 1:30 pm

    I want to learn the piano, because throughout my life I have tried several instruments, but not got on very well with any of them. Never tried the piano because I’ve never had room for one, or could afford one. Now small keyboards are readily available and affordable, this could be my next challenge!

  13. Pam Francis Gregory
    January 12, 2015 / 8:02 pm

    I tried when I was a child & have played keyboard as an adult however would love to learn as an adult!

  14. Liz Ferguson
    January 12, 2015 / 11:19 pm

    I’d like to learn, so that I can teach all of the kids in our family.
    I’d like to learn to play the fiddle, too!

  15. teresa sheldon
    January 13, 2015 / 11:01 pm

    I have always wanted to play seen I was young but funds never let me, My 2 daughters had lessons but I could’nt afford a piano at home, my Grandson has just started lessons and is enjoying them so much, it would be wonderful for him to have his own and who knows he might, when his older teach me

  16. Eva Appleby
    January 14, 2015 / 8:12 pm

    I have always wanted to play the Guitar

  17. Kathryn Hipkin
    January 14, 2015 / 10:51 pm

    I had a lovely teacher for 3 years, retired but busy and she was great. Now she has a boyfriend who is an obsession with her. I have asked at least 7 times and she has just ignored my texts – and I never ever see her now.
    I didn’t want to give up but I just think finding another teacher only for them to ignore me as well would just be heartbreaking – never very confident with other people anyway.
    That couldn’t happen with an online course so I would really really love to win

  18. Kathryn Hipkin
    January 14, 2015 / 11:10 pm

    After having to give up piano lessons as a child because we couldn’t afford it, I started again 4 years ago.
    I had a lovely lady called Linda as a piano teacher, retired but busy and she was great.
    Now, though, she has a boyfriend and if I ask for a lesson she just ignores my texts. I never ever see her now.
    I’m a bit nervous of trying to find another teacher as I’m not at all confident with new people – or any people , I don’t really have friends which is probably why I miss Linda so much, we sometimes did other things together
    This course is online so I don’t think the same thing could happen!

  19. aaron broad
    January 15, 2015 / 2:56 pm

    I never got chance to learn as a kid, would be cool to try now

  20. Jane Clay
    January 17, 2015 / 7:15 pm

    Tried to learn yeasrs ago, but got pregnant and couldn’t reach the keyboasrd comfortably! About time I tried again, as son is now 21!

  21. Paul Walsh
    January 19, 2015 / 3:10 pm

    I have always wanted to learn to play the piano

  22. stacey kavanah
    January 19, 2015 / 3:46 pm

    always wanted to learn

    January 19, 2015 / 4:01 pm

    I listen to Erik Satie and Debussy and I aspire to them. I have longed to play piano for a while.

  24. Judith Gutowski
    January 20, 2015 / 2:42 pm

    I have always dreamed to being a pianist, and may be this will be my opportunity to fulfil a dream.

  25. Chris Fletcher
    January 20, 2015 / 2:57 pm

    I always fancied learning – my gran gave me an ancient electric organ as a kid which was great til it broke. I think she picked it up in a charity shop! I haven’t had the chance since

    January 20, 2015 / 5:15 pm

    It is something that I have wanted to do but never got around too.

  27. Allan Fullarton
    January 20, 2015 / 7:26 pm

    What a great prize!

  28. Lauren Old
    January 20, 2015 / 9:08 pm

    I remember having lessons when I was about 6-7 but never fully pursued it. It’s the one instrument I would love to be able to play!

  29. Jackie Chapman
    January 20, 2015 / 9:28 pm

    It is my son who would like to learn to play so I’m entering to win this for him

  30. Petra Hora
    January 20, 2015 / 11:46 pm

    I always wanted to play piano. Amazing prize.

  31. Joy Dehany
    January 21, 2015 / 12:12 am

    I started teaching myself to play when I was 14. I’m 42 now, and sadly had to give my piano away when I moved house. Deeply regretted it ever since. I have a keyboard, but it’s not the same. Because I taught myself, I have a lot of bad habits, I need to learn how to do it properly now to improve my playing and improve my posture. I have arthritis so can only play infrequently which is no good to be honest, but knowing how to get it right will help immensely while I save up for my 88 key electric piano. (No space for a real piano)
    Thank you for this.

  32. Laurie Emerson
    January 21, 2015 / 12:59 am

    I have wanted to learn to play the piano since I was a little girl. There are so many songs I love and I would like to learn how to play them.

    • January 31, 2015 / 9:49 am

      im also learning getting help from a ebook..its really helps me out..and after reading your post it seems very easy for me.. you guys can check this ebook…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge